Baby Corner

Old 10-18-09, 11:01 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Level: 1
Weekly Activity 20%
Default Too 'out there?'

My hubby and I both love the name Erasmus for a boy, but is it too strange? We do want something that stands out a bit. Our last name is quite plain, 2-syllables and ends in -y. We would choose a short, simple mn. Another option would be Sander (Alexander is a family name.) For a girl we love Evan Susanna, Evan Amelia, or Evan Olivia. What do you think? Thanks!

Old 10-18-09, 11:20 PM
VIP Member

Thanked 353 Times
Weekly Activity 20%

If I did Sander, I would be more tempted to spell is Xander... Your girls names are cute, but I like the middle names you have chosen and would likely use on of those for a first and then Evan in the middle..

Old 10-18-09, 11:46 PM
VIP Member

Thanked 1,117 Times
Weekly Activity 620%

I'm a teacher so I'm partial to "regular" names, and I do not like Erasmus at all. I like Xander better than Sander, although I think Xander is pronounced "Zander" and "Sander" is with an S.

I think Evan is a boy's name and most people will think your baby is a boy if you go with it for a girl.

If it were me... I would choose one of your middle names for a first name and save "Erasmus" "Sander" and "Evan" for middle names.

But in the end, this is YOUR baby and like I always say--- name him or her what YOU love. This is why we don't tell people the names we have chosen till after the baby's born. I have 2 friends, one who named her kid Dewey (actually met her on here), and the other who named her kid Korbin. I didn't like either of the names at first (but never said so of course) but after the kids were born and I got to see them and learn their personalities, they both totally grew into the names and I can't imagine them being named anything else. Good luck and welcome to tbc.

Old 10-19-09, 02:19 AM
Community Member

Thanked 2 Times
Weekly Activity 20%