Baby Corner

Baby, Trying to Conceive and Pregnancy Message Boards

Member Login

Baby Corner Message Board > Parenting Message Boards > Breastfeeding Breastfeeding with a baby in a Pavlik harness...

Breastfeeding with a baby in a Pavlik harness...

Post Reply Post New Topic  

Old 09-04-09, 06:58 AM
is loving being a Mum to a miracle
British Community Leaders

Thanked 283 Times
Level: 1
Weekly Activity 14.67%
Default Breastfeeding with a baby in a Pavlik harness...

Kara is 8 weeks on Saturday and despite an earlier tongue-tie (which was 'un-tied' when she was 11 days old) we had nursing down to a fine art.

But her diagnosis of DDH last week and having to wear a Pavlik harness until christmas is causing her (and therefore me) some problems as she can't seem to get comfy, and fusses a lot. Has anyone got any advice? Neither of us get on with the rugby/football hold.

Old 09-04-09, 12:57 PM
is Back to work :(
Proud SAHM

Thanked 377 Times
Weekly Activity 1.33%

I have no experience with hip dysplasia, but the only thing I can think of is nursing her in a reclining chair if you have one. Maybe she can lay on your chest and get comfy that way if you are mostly reclined?

Old 09-04-09, 02:58 PM
is wondering around the boards again!!
Mommy of 3

Thanked 316 Times
Weekly Activity 1.33%

Does the harness keep her straight? I am not familar with it. but what about laying down and her laying next to you? I know this can be a pain to do every time she eats. as for the foot ball hold I nursed DD#1 and DS and I could never get it down... Then DD#2 had an IV in her head & I had to learn and it was one of her favorite once i figured it out. get a lot of pillows and sit on a open space surround your self in the pillows up to the height of where Kara would lay and be able to latch on then lay her beside you on the pillows. did that make sence??

I hope the time she has to wear the harness goes by quickly.

Old 09-04-09, 09:15 PM
is aka Andrea
Community Member

Thanked 218 Times