Baby Corner

Old 05-22-05, 12:43 AM
Is now legally Mrs. DP

Thanked 18 Times
Level: 1
Weekly Activity 1.33%
Default child mentioned

Sarah, I'm in California. I also have BC/BS (it's the Empire BCBS which I believe is out of New York since my ex-employer's headquarters is in NYC). I am really not sure why my company chose to cover fertility, but I do count my blessings!! There is no way I would have continued for as long as I have if it did not cover IUI's and IVF. I think it's because I worked in the music industry and it was very progressive. We had domestic partnership benefits, as well. We started TTC 3 years ago with IUI's, but I had a blocked tube (later it was removed because of an ectopic) so we moved onto IVF pretty quickly. I have done 3 fresh cycles and 2 frozen cycles and have enough embryo's for 3 or 4 more FET's. The only reason I ever chose the fertility path instead of adoption is because of my great insurance! I thought it would be cheaper to try to get pregnant than to adopt (plus I thought our only adoption option would cost $30,000. Later we looked into the fos/adopt system and it was FREE!).

Now that we have adopted Shaye I almost prefer to continue on the adoption path. I've always been a little nervous of mixing adopted and bio children because I never want there to be any kind of "I wasn't good enough" feelings (I'm sure a lot of adopted children sometimes wonder if they are loved less than biological children. Sad, but true). So, this last failed FET cycle wasn't that hard to deal with. My daughter has changed my life

and she is my heart. Adoption has changed our world!!!!!!!!

Old 05-25-05, 05:21 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Weekly Activity 1.33%

How was your adoption free?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowboardMom2B