Baby Corner

Old 10-09-04, 06:28 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Level: 1
Weekly Activity 20%
Question IVF questions (long-sorry)

I'm a newbie here.

DH and I are carriers of a rare autosomal recessive genetic disease which our 2 year old son has. It's a terrible disease and as a result we are considering trying IVF with preimplantation genetic diagnosis. Our other options are using a sperm donor or conceiving our own baby which we would terminate if it was affected with the disease. There is a 25% chance each pregnancy would be affected. (disease is fatal , degenerative etc etc) The testing for the disease takes a while to come back and so would result in a second trimester termination which I really don't want to risk.
Anyways......
I wondered if someone could point me in the right direction for info about IVF and/or PGD.
I have read lots of general medical information but can't find the answers to some basic questions like
1) how awful is it REALLY being on the hormone shots etc?
2) how many eggs can they usually get per cycle
(we have the added problem that likely only one out of four of our embryos would be implantable as the others would be carriers or affected with the disease)
Personally I am leaning towards using a sperm donor-- but for obvious reasons DH is having a tough time with that idea. IVF sounds pretty awful to me- but maybe I'm just being a wimp

TIA any input would be appreciated

Old 10-09-04, 09:09 PM
Community Member

Thanked 2 Times
Weekly Activity 20%

First of all, welcome to the board. Secondly, you are not a wimp. I have done several IVFs and while I might be a pro by now (sadly), I cried the first time I had to give myself a shot in the stomach with a 1/2" needle. Now I have no problem jabbing myself in the thigh with 1-1/2" intramuscular needles.

1) The hormone injections are not awful. Just keep your eye on the prize and that will get you through it. I had more of a reaction to clomid i.e. mood swings, cysts etc.