Baby Corner

Old 02-15-08, 10:48 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Level: 1
Weekly Activity 20%
Default Bleeding during pregnancy

Hello,

I am new to this entire process...new to being pregnant (this is our first baby) and new to the thread as well. I do have a question I found out that I was pregnant last week Friday only because my cycle was abnormal it was very light and dark brown and only evident when I wiped..sorry I know that was graphic. Anyway, I took a pregnancy test and it came up positive (as did the next 5 test I took). Anyway, I went to the midwide Monday and told her about the bleeding (which at that time had only been going on for 3 days) and she did not seem overly concerned although I also told her that I was experiencing some cramping as well. We did blood work and on Monday my HcG level was 337.4 and again on Wednesday where my HcG level was 760.2 so the midwife was encouraged. I told her when she called me Thursday to give me the results that I was still experiencing the bleeding (no more than about a tablespoon a day I would day) and it that it was still dark brown and that I was still having some cramping and she said that was ok. She told me to schedule my first ultrasound for the first week of March at which time I will be 8 weeks pregnant but as of today (officially one week from the day I found out I was pregnant) I am STILL bleeding. My question, have any of you experienced this and if so how many days did this bleeding occur, I am really ready for it to STOP it is quite concerning. I have heard stories about women who have brown spotting and then it stops and comes back but this has been consecutive and has tiny clots sometimes (no tissue or anything and nothing outside of what my normal clots would be if it were a regular cycle). I am just ready for the bleeding to stop. I don't want to panic and go to the after hours facility but I would like another blood test to make sure my HcG levels are still rising. Any advice/assistance/or s