Baby Corner

Baby, Trying to Conceive and Pregnancy Message Boards

Lost Your Password?

Baby Corner Message Board > Pregnancy Message Boards > Pregnancy, Labor & Childbirth Can one mentally prepare for pregnancy/parenthood prior to conception??

Can one mentally prepare for pregnancy/parenthood prior to conception??

Post Reply Post New Topic  

Old 04-04-08, 08:25 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Level: 1
Weekly Activity 20%
Question Can one mentally prepare for pregnancy/parenthood prior to conception??

Greetings,

I am a brand new member to this site (as a matter of fact - this is my first time on any sort of pregnancy/parenting website). I have a question that I hope is appropriate for this board - but let me set the stage first:

My husband and I are approaching our 4 year anniversary, and he's quite anxious to start having children (in all honesty, he's been ready since the Honeymoon) - whereas I am a "baby stepper" when it comes to having children. I enjoy kids very much, but I never really thought much about them, and I certainly never saw myself really ever having one (physically. That's something I never fantasized about).

The issue/level of accountability and responsiblity concerns me! I think it's easier for a man to be excited about having children because 1.) they don't have to carry them nor experience labor, and 2.) historically, parenthood is not shared 50/50 (as I've seen and have been told by many a wife/mother). I believe my husband will be a good father, but when it comes to "the details" and everyday realities - we don't look at parenthood through the same pair of glasses. Other "unpredicatables" make me quiver as well: the depreciating state of our nation's economy (and morals), safety, healthcare... ugh - so much going on in the world today!

So my question is, "What can one do to mentally prepare for even conceiving a child, let alone pregnancy and parenthood?"