Baby Corner

Old 07-28-06, 02:55 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Level: 1
Weekly Activity 1.43%
Default Cm question

Ok, so this is my first time ttc, so I am not familiar with what CM indicates.
Please help me figure this out. I am 7 DPO. Today I am crampy and I noticed my first CM (it is thick and white).
I need to know what this means. DH and I DTD last Friday and Sat, so maybe I caught the egg. I did not do an OPK then, I was going on counting days since my last period.
Can someone clear this up and help educate me. I would be so grateful. BTW- I am using the OPK now and have had four straight days of neg.
I was on BCP until my last period started (July 10th).
TIA
Shelly

Old 07-28-06, 05:04 PM
VIP Member

Thanked 1,117 Times
Weekly Activity 44.29%

Ok, I'm a little confused. Why are you using OPKs if you think you've already ovulated? How do you know you ovulated?

The cm past ovulation isn't really that good of an indicator of whether or not you are pg (though you could be). Around the time of ovulation, you will get CM that is the consistency of raw egg whites. It should be stretchy and not break easily.

You could start charting your temperatures when this period comes. Fertilityfriend.com is a great, free site that I and a lot of the ladies here used. If you don't want to do that, you could just have intercourse about every other day around the time you think you might be ovulating, and also use OPKs.
Good luck and hope this helps.

Old 07-28-06, 05:18 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Weekly Activity 1.43%

The reason I am is just to try to familiarize myself with when I ovulated. I am not sure if I did last week, since I have just recently stopped. I am hoping OPKs will help me in the future just in case I haven't ovulated yet.
I just used my dates to figure out when I will ovulate and using the OPK for the future as a back up indicator.
I don't really know if I did ovulate this month since I just stopped BCP. Does that makes sense?
Thanks
Shelly