Baby Corner

Old 01-27-15, 06:44 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Level: 1
Weekly Activity 500%
Default PLEASE share your advice!!

Hello Mommies and my TTC friends.

I had a few questions that hopefully several of you will be so kind as to weigh in on and share your thoughts/experiences. The backstory is a bit long, but I'd like to give you as much info (I will sum it up the best I can) to paint the whole picture!

First off, I am a registered nurse and I know a lot about pregnancy through the entire process. I'm actually a nursing professor currently teaching Maternal Newborn Nursing. HOWEVER, I have had several health issues and happenings that have confused me about my own body.

Here's the backstory:
I was dating/engaged/married to my ex-husband for almost 5 years. We used ZERO form of birth control, and which we did not have IC very often, I kept a tracker on my phone and we almost always did around my supposed fertile day(s). So although we never actually TRIED, I feel like the odds should mean I definitely would have gotten pregnant. I considered a fertility problem with one of us, but it turns out he had a child with his ex-girlfriend through an affair... So clearly its not him and clearly we are no longer married.
I've also been diagnosed with gastritis (stomach condition), which has required treatment with several routine drugs as well as several as needed. I also am still currently bring treated for mild depression and anxiety, but have taken steps to greatly reduce my medication dosages.
I do not take anti-seizure meds or antibiotics frequently.
I had one abnormal Pap smear a few years ago, but things turned out fine. (Side note: haven't seen a gyno in a few years - long insurance story - but about to make an appointment.
I have always had light periods, somewhat irregular - but have become more regular with age.
I recently married again, and my new husband and I (for lack of a better time) are REALLY practicing to make a baby