Baby Corner

Old 04-18-05, 12:18 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Level: 1
Weekly Activity 0.57%
Question Where to Start?

Decided to start TTC and wanted to know recommended OPK's. Any suggestions? Is this the best way to get started to find ovulation time?

Thanks

Old 04-18-05, 12:40 PM
VIP Member

Location: Originally from PA. Now live in OK. Did, however, spend 5 yrs in HK.
Thanked 129 Times
Weekly Activity 0.57%

I've no experience with OPKs, but I know a lot of women swear by them. Another method you might look into is charting. Check out FertilityFriend.com for more info on that. Hopefully some of the other girls here will have some more helpful advice for you on OPKs. If you do decide you want to try OPKs there's a lady here at TBC who sells them for really cheap over on the Buy/Sell board. You can click the Swap/Shop link in my sig, and then find the thread by Moy.

Old 04-18-05, 06:03 PM
is reading!
Rudi - VIP CL & mom of 2

Thanked 681 Times
Weekly Activity 3.43%

I've used ClearBlue Easy OPKs and had good luck with them. I highly recommend that you get a copy of Taking Charge of Your Fertility by Tony Weschler. I was going nuts using just OPKs without charting, and I missed my ovulation a couple of times because I thought I couldn't ovulate past day 14. I was wrong, and this book will explain how to read the signals your body is giving you so you always know when you can conceive. I use the OPKs in conjunction with charting, and it's so much more clear what's going on. Good luck to you!!!

Old 04-18-05, 08:47 PM
Mom to Eli and Owen

Thanked 55 Times
Weekly Activity 0.57%

well said. I highly recommend the book in conjunction with OPKs. Charting was great to me.

Old 04-19-05, 12:53 PM
Community Member

Thanked 0 Times
Weekly Activity 0.57%