Skip to main content
Baby Corner logo

Welcome! Register today! | Login
Forums > Parent to Parent > Ask a Question >
those of you who sew

those of you who sew

Reply Post New Topic

• 3Princes 11-14-08 | 10:19 PM
  • How did you learn? Did your mom teach you? My mom is very undomestic... but I would like to learn I think. Do you think I could take a class?
  • LAB LAB's Avatar 11-14-08 | 10:35 PM
  • Taking a class is a great way to learn! I'm self taught despite my mom being an excellent seamstress! She never had time to teach me, so I figured it out on my own. Its funny as that's the same way she learned. Through the neglect of a much too busy mom! I did take a class in jr. High, but I knew more then the class taught by then. I took another class in High school and loved that too. That's when I learned to quilt! I took another class in college for the easy A. I helped the teacher out with a few things

Didn't learn anything, but did get my fun and easy A that I needed that semester. I loved the "text book" we were required to buy, but never opened in class. I devoured that!

Laura

• Laurie Laurie's Avatar 11-14-08 | 11:01 PM
  • My mom taught me, but I got my experience through the theatre costume shop. A class us a great idea!
  • skyqueen skyqueen's Avatar 11-14-08 | 11:21 PM
  • my mom is an excellent seamstress too but she didn't teach me squat

I took the home ec class in high school which did very little for me... I basically taught myself.

A class is excellent.
  • illaheebaby 11-15-08 | 02:58 AM
  • my mom isn't a very good sewer, though she tried. she actually taught me cross stitch, which is my best sewing skill!

i'm a bit self taught, i am still a beginner! i worked at jo-ann fabrics for three or four years (mainly as a cashier) but you can't help but be inspired working there!!

i learned to quilt while working there (a friend taught me, but the employee discount helped me get started.)