Skip to main content
Baby Corner logo

Welcome! Register today! | Login
Forums > Parenting Message Boards > Breastfeeding >
New mom needs help!

New mom needs help!

Reply Post New Topic

• MrsPook MrsPook's Avatar 09-08-04 | 11:12 AM
  • Hello! I am new to this whole thing and could really use some help. Has anyone had to deal with nipple confusion this early and have any suggestions for help latching on to the nipple now. Here is my story: Ryan was born last Friday and we got only that afternoon and night to try breastfeeding a few times before he was transferred to another hospital because he had severe hyperbilirubinemia. Anyway he is doing much better and we hope to have him home tomorrow. So I have been pumping and they have been feeding him my breasty milk (better than nothing). So yesterday we tried breastfeeding again and my milk is pretty much come (i think) but he seemed have a difficult time latching on or I was not sure if he was latched on properly. He did one breast for about 20 inutes on and off with dropping the nipple a lot so I finally gave up and gave him a bottle of pumped milk. He seemed so much happier. I felt guilty though because I gave up but they said he really needs to eat well becasue of his condition that will help him get better and come home soon. SO does anyone have any advice on how I know he is latched on and getting enough to eat? Why does he keep dropping the nipple from his mouth and how long do I keep trying? As for pumping, is it normal to start out with it squirting form my nipple and then gradually over 10-15 minutes it starts to just drip ( I am only 5 days postpartum). Is that when you know you are done and to stop pumping. I don't really feel that let down reflex and I am a large chested woman (D normally now DD) so they always seem big and plump to me, but they don't feel hard. I have been trying to pump every 3 hours as that is how they are feeding him in the hospital. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am going t