Skip to main content
Baby Corner logo

Question Please!

Reply Post New Topic

• Keepers Keepers's Avatar 06-17-09 | 02:51 PM
  • Holly when did you start supplementing with formula?
  • holly302 06-17-09 | 02:57 PM
  • he was 8 wks old when he got his first bottle...but he only drank an ounce. it took him a good week to really drink 4-6 oz. I dont have to go back to work until he is 5 months old, BUT if i had to go back at 6wks, I would start him on a bottle after he's a week old. I think that first week is alot of adjustment for you and the baby. Im not an expert, so if someone who knows more than I do tells you different, then do whatever is best. Im just telling you what I would do. I would start the bottle with ebm and about two weeks or so, I would put alittle formula for her to get used to.

Do you want to completely stop bfing once you go back to work and just give formula? if so, then slowly put more formula in the bottle until its all formula. If not, then start pumping after 2wks (dont pump too crazy..thats what i did and got mastitis 3

and start saving it for daycare.

Thank you holly302!
Keepers (06-18-09)
  • Eskie Eskie's Avatar 06-18-09 | 10:14 AM
  • Both our kids nursed and went to daycare at 6 weeks - no formula for them. They both nursed until 18 months+ with whole milk introduced at 1 year.

The laws are around breaks and lunch. You can use them for pumping. You just have to schedule around your day. I would arrive early to work and pump right away - then pump at both my breaks and lunch time. It mattered more to me to do the pumping than try to time it to when dd was eating. That caused to much stress - I just did it when I could fit into schedule without causing problems at work.